Building Z3 dependency failed.

Nov 10, 2013 at 6:04 AM
This is my first time building something from source code in VS.
I'm running into some problems building Formula.

1) What is the minimum requirement for VS to build Formula?

I downloaded an eval of VS 2012 Ultimate but this is clearly overkill...
Can you please indicate the minimum requirement for VS.
Does it matter if we get VS 2012 or VS 2013 or later?

2) What are the "required locations" for the Codeplex dependencies mentioned in the README.txt?

The FORMULA build scripts will try to automatically download these dependencies from Codeplex.
Or you may compile the dependencies manually and place them in the required locations.

3) Automatic download & build of dependencies failed with Z3:
C:\Users\rouquett>cd Source\Repos\formula

C:\Users\rouquett\Source\Repos\formula>cd Bld

C:\Users\rouquett\Source\Repos\formula\Bld>build.bat

C:\Users\rouquett\Source\Repos\formula\Bld>echo off
Bootstrapping the build utility...
Building in release configuration
Gardens Point dependencies have already been built; skipping this build step.
Downloading dependency z3 to C:\Users\rouquett\Source\Repos\formula\Ext\Z3\z3_.zip...
Extracting dependency z3 to C:\Users\rouquett\Source\Repos\formula\Ext\Z3\z3_\...
Building Z3 for x86.
OUT:
OUT: C:\Users\rouquett\Source\Repos\formula\Bld>REM echo off
OUT:
OUT: C:\Users\rouquett\Source\Repos\formula\Bld>call "E:\VSU2012\VC\vcvarsall.bat" x86
OUT:
EXIT: 2
ERROR: Could not build z3 (x86)
ERROR: Build failed
Build failed.
I noticed that in Z3Builder.cs, there's an absolute path for the z3 source dir.
Does that have anything to do with this error?
  • Nicolas
Nov 10, 2013 at 7:37 AM
For (3), I found that I had Python 2.5.1 installed instead of 2.7.5

After uninstalling & installing the correct Python 2.7.5, I had to fix the environment PATH variable (add C:\Python27).

Now, the build failed here:
OUT: CoreCompile: